Government of Pakistan Pakistan Bureau of Statistics Sample Design Section Islamabad

Subject: CODING SCHEME FOR QUARTERLY LABOUR FORCE SURVEY 2017-18

A **10-digit** coding scheme has been introduced for sample villages/enumeration blocks (PSUs) and households selected for LFS 2017-18, details are given as under:

STRUCTURE AND POSITION OF THE PROCESSING CODE

	ı	II	III	IV	V	VI	VII	VIII	IX	X
Ī	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10

Position-I

One digit processing code at position-I has been assigned to the four provinces of Pakistan, Gilgit-Baltistan and AJ & Kashmir as under:

Province	Code
Khyber Pakhtunkhaw	1
Punjab	2
Sindh	3
Balochistan	4
Islamabad	6
Gilgit-Baltistian	7
AJ & Kashmir	8

Position-II & III

A **two-digit** processing code at position II & III has been assigned to show the stratum. At position II one digit processing code has been assigned for each administrative division within each province, Gilgit-Baltistan and AJ & Kashmir.

At position III, zero (0) processing code has been assigned if stratum is administrative division, and one digit other than zero has been assigned if stratum is administrative district. Details of stratum codes are annexed.

Position-IV

One-digit processing code at position-IV has been assigned to region comprising rural and urban areas of each province of Pakistan as shown below:

Region	Code
Rural	1
Urban	2

Position-V

A **one-digit** processing code at position-VI has been assigned to a quarter of the year with detail as under:

Quarter of Year 2013-14	Code
1 st Quarter	1
2 nd Quarter	2
3 rd Quarter	3
4 th Quarter	4

Position-VI, VII & VIII

A **three-digit** processing code at position VI to VIII has been assigned to primary sampling units (PSUs) i.e. Enumeration Blocks/Villages within stratum/substratum of each province, Gilgit/Baltistan and Azad Jammu & Kashmir.

Position IX& X

A **two-digit** processing code at position IX and X has been assigned to secondary sampling units (SSUs) i.e. households within each primary sampling unit (PSU) of a stratum/sub-stratum in each province, Gilgit/Baltistan and Azad Jammu & Kashmir